Health / Recipes

Italian Eggplant Bites

I was craving Italian one day and stumbled upon The World According to Eggface’s eggplant stacks recipe. It seemed easy enough so I decided to try it. First, remember to buy the right kind of eggplant. I’ve tried it with Italian and Chinese versions, but I much prefer Italian eggplant. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Grill your eggplant on the stove using a little bit of extra virgin olive oil, until it’s softened. I used a little bit of oregano and basil seasoning too.

Image

Place your eggplant on a foil-lined baking sheet and top with fresh mozzarella and then a spoonful of marina sauce. You can add another piece of eggplant on top, but I chose to just do “bites.”

Image

Bake them for about 15 minutes or until it looks like the cheese melted. I actually can’t put into words how good these were! I had four of them for lunch the next day. I would say they are a lighter meal for when you aren’t too hungry but need something to tide you over until dinner.

Image

How do you soothe your Italian food cravings?

Leave a Reply

