Health / Recipes / Weight Loss

Ground “Meat” Quesadilla

So now that I’m feeling better, I’m finally experimenting in the kitchen again. I forgot how much I love to cook. I had to go through the whole “stage” process again after leaving the hospital but once I was back to solids I was quite excited to eat something good. As usual, I was craving Mexican. I remembered that I had a quesadilla maker (thanks to Black Friday for making this machine only $10) so I picked up some Weight Watchers Whole Wheat Tortillas. I don’t usually participate in such a carb fest, but I only used one.

Image

Now, not only can I no longer eat red meat, I wouldn’t want to. It’s far too dangerous these days. So I opted for ground soy meat. You’d be surprised how good it is! Seriously, try it. It cooks best in a sauce, so I added some mild red enchilada sauce. For spices I added garlic powder, onion powder, organic taco seasoning, chili powder and some red pepper flakes. I know some post-ops can’t do anything too spicy but for some reason I handle it completely fine.

Image

I added low-fat tex-mex cheese on top and I put a little guacamole on the side (later decided I wasn’t a fan). If you’re cooking for more than just yourself, like I was, offer up some jalapenos or sour cream too. I sat it on the quesadilla maker, obviously didn’t close it, and let it cook for about 8 minutes. The crispier your tortilla, the easier it will be to digest. I couldn’t eat the whole thing in one sitting so I had half for lunch and half for dinner. For the entire thing it’s around 22 grams of protein. I think it was the first time I was satisfied since my surgery!

If you try it let me know what you think! What was the first thing you ate after your surgery that made you feel alive again?

One thought on “Ground “Meat” Quesadilla

  1. looks yummy! I can’t handle red meat now either. It used to be my favorite! Now I use ground turkey for practically everything and I love it! I love making tortilla pizzas with the whole wheat low carb tortillas. This looks a lot like a Mexican pizza one I make! Only difference is I add in some olives and black beans šŸ™‚ Yummy. I’m SO glad you’re feeling better, you have no idea! Can’t wait to see how amazing you do!

Leave a Reply

