Personal / Travel

Keeping Up with Hilary

I know it’s been awhile, but I promise I’m still on track! I won’t lie, I fell off the wagon for a bit in April. I had a completely unexpected death in my family that just really shook me up. My Aunt (and godmother) Patty has always been a big supporter in my life. She never let a week pass without reminding me of how proud I made her. Her death still has me down, but I’m working through it. I know that’s what she would have wanted. On top of that, school is out! So I’ve been travelling a lot. Since my last post I have been it Boston, Newark, New York City, Miami and Antigua.

Image

I actually arrived in Boston just after the marathon bombings. I was there during the shooting, the arrest and the lockdown. It was quite the week. Anyways, I was there to visit a friend and go to a hockey game. We had a great time but it was hard to keep a smile on my face while the city was so sad. It was impossible to visit the memorial site without shedding a tear.

Image

I was only home in Toronto for a few days before flying to Newark for a hockey game. Never, and I mean never, stay in Newark. There is nothing to do! We ended up taking the train to Manhattan for our only full day in town. My roommate and I crossed a few things off of the bucket list by having tea at Alice’s Tea Cup, frozen hot chocolate at Serendipity and spa treatments in the Upper East Side.

Image

A few weeks later I was off to Antigua with my Meme. We had a free trip courtesy of Aveda Pure Privilege rewards. Yes, we buy that many Aveda products! We stayed at Sugar Ridge in a beautiful room with our own private wading pool. Although the resort isn’t on the water, the beach is a five minute ride away. The ocean was as beautiful as it gets and the sun was just about as hot as you could imagine. We spent one day shopping in St. John and the rest relaxing either at the beach, the pool or the amazing on-site Aveda spa.

Image

Before we returned back to reality, we stopped in Miami. We stayed in a large suite at the Hilton Bentley in South Beach. I finally reached my dream of shopping in all four Dash locations: Calabasas, Los Angeles, New York City and Miami. If you ask me, the Melrose branch is the best! I also stopped in at the Celine store and finally found the beautiful luggage bag I had been looking for. Sadly, it was time to return home and unwillingly, we did.

Image

So here I am, back to every day life, but not really! I have been staying in Pennsylvania with my Meme. This place has always been bad for me; bad memories, bad people, bad choices. It’s starting to look up though. I finally have Meme on track when it comes to healthy eating. You don’t know how important it is to live with a good support system! It makes it even easier when the other person decides to eat healthy with you. My “diet” has been going well and although I’ve only lost one pound this month I’m pretty happy with where I am at. Things are going good here. My favourite hockey team is in the playoffs, I’m enjoying my family more than I ever have and I’m just relaxing. I hate to say it, but I’ll be sad to go back to Toronto next week.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter to keep up with where I go next! Hint: It’s on the west coast…

3 thoughts on “Keeping Up with Hilary

  1. Hi Hilary – I have been following along with you on your journey. Wishing you much luck over the coming months. Are you following the Memorial Cup? I can’t believe it will be hosted by the OHL again next year – time goes by so quickly. Take care and all the best, A

    • Hello Anne,

      Thank you so much! It’s great to hear from you. I am following the Memorial Cup, I’m rooting for the London Knights, they have some Pittsburgh boys! I hope to be involved again next year, it was such an amazing experience! I can’t believe it was so long ago. Take care!

  2. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know
    a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.

    I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message
    home a little bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent
    blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

