Health / Weight Loss

Weekly Goal: Start Exercising

I started exercising! I had it scheduled for this week’s new goal, but I’m surprised I’m actually doing it! I’ve finally got on somewhat of a normal sleep schedule too. I’ve forced myself to get 8-9 hours of sleep for the past three nights. I can’t get over how great it has made me feel! I’m used to either sleeping too little or too much. I’m so glad I’ve found this balance though because it does wonders for my mood! Sunday I woke up at 7:30 to start my day. I wanted to have breakfast before going to the gym, so I had 2.5 eggs and a Sambazon protein drink (expect a review on that later).

10.5_VanPro_LO_Res

My roommate Colin then helped me stretch. Stretching is so important when you have RA/Fibromyalgia. I do it almost everyday anyways but I knew it would be vital to keep away post-workout pain. I then waited until 9 to head down to the condo gym. Can I just say, that is the perfect time to avoid people. Colin and I were the only ones there until 9:30, when the meatheads started pouring in.

rowing-machine

I knew I couldn’t overdo it or I would regret working out all week. I started off with 6 minutes on the treadmill at 2 mph. I know, I know. That’s not a lot but it’s a good start for me. I then moved onto the elliptical for another 5 minutes. I tried the stationary bike, but wow does that hurt my knees! I could only do it for 3 minutes. I then went to something new, something I had never tried before, a rowing machine. I loved it! I could feel it in my shoulders that evening but I really enjoyed that particular exercise. I did it at a steady pace for two minutes, but I know I can go longer in the future.

hottub_png

After the gym, we took a dip in the hot tub. I really think that helped my muscles because I woke up with just moderate pain. Next time I want to try the sauna too. I attempted it, I just couldn’t figure out how it works (yeah, I’m that blonde). My next planned work-outs are Tuesday and Thursday. I will probably keep up the same routine this week. In the future, I hope to add work-out tapes once a week.

Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 12.47.13 PM

 

I thought my exercising was done for the day, but then I had to walk up to section 500 at the Rogers Centre for a Blue Jays game. Yeah, I nearly died. It’s ramps but they are so long and steep! I wasn’t prepared in the shoe department so now I have some nasty blisters. After the game, Colin and I went across the street to my favourite sushi place, Mi Ne. I ordered more than I could eat, I guess I’m still used to the old Hilary! I had six pieces of an apple cider roll, six pieces of a spider roll and two pieces of a sweet potato roll. Surprisingly, I didn’t go over my calorie limit of 1,600 either. It’s amazing how full sushi can make you. I didn’t even eat for the rest of the day because I was stuffed!

Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 12.47.22 PM

 

For more pictures, follow me on Instagram.

Leave a Reply

