Health / Personal

Easter 2013

I wanted to share some pictures from Easter at my Meme’s! For once, I was in charge of all the cooking! I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I wanted all of my ingredients to be as fresh as possible, so I headed to Whole Foods. I bought everything local and organic. I also made things healthier where I could, such as opting for whole wheat pasta in my macaroni or using butter substitutes.

Image

To start, we had devilled eggs. I had a little help from my Meme on these, I had never even boiled an egg! We used my recipe though and they turned out good. I also put pimento cheese on a toasted cracker so that people could nibble before lunch. Our appetizer was avocado soup served with a lemon-marinated shrimp.

Image

I bought a pre-cooked bone-in ham from Whole Foods. I wanted to create my own flavour though, so I created a plum preserve glaze. I garnished the ham with pineapple and chives. It was so tender and I was pleased that it wasn’t overly salty.

Image

Our sides included a caramelized onion quiche, parmesan brussel sprouts, apricot-glazed carrots and smoked gouda mac-n-cheese. Instead of serving buns, I made toasted gorgonzola bread.

Image

For dessert, I made a strawberry mousse cake from scratch! It was the first time I had ever made anything completely from scratch. I was so proud of myself and luckily it was delicious! We also served Easter cookies from Whole Foods, my favourite was lemon rosemary. On my cupcake carousel we placed alternating cornbread and pistachio muffins.

Image

At the end of the day, I was extremely satisfied with all of my hard work. My family raved over my cooking. They couldn’t believe that I had so quickly gone from Easy Bake Oven disasters to gourmet meals. I guess that’s the fun of being an adult! For more recipes, follow me on Pinterest.

Image

 

 

What did you do for Easter?

One thought on “Easter 2013

  1. Woah! I am really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s easy, however effective. A lot of times it’s very tough to obtain that “perfect balance” between consumer friendliness and visual appearance. I should say that you’ve carried out a superb occupation with this. Also, the blog loads very quick for me on Safari. Excellent Blog!

Leave a Reply

