Personal / Weight Loss

3 Steps Towards Healthy Living

Less than two weeks ago, I set some goals for myself. I wanted to change my lifestyle slowly so I could become a healthier being. Weight loss isn’t about fad dieting anymore, it’s about changing your habits permanently. I knew that if I tried to transform too fast it wouldn’t last. So every week I am going to add a new goal. So far I have cut out pop and started eating out less and I’ve lost 7 pounds!! 

diet-coke-287x300

1. Cut out pop forever – I never believed people when they told me that diet soda was part of the reason I was fat. It has less calories and sugar, how could it be bad for you? Most people point to aspartame as the culprit. I have heard of aspartame and its negative effects but I had never really looked into it. Believe me, you should. Not only am I cutting out diet drinks, but gum, low fat/sugar yogurts and more contain aspartame. It is far from the “natural” sweetener we are told it is; it has been linked to cancer, diabetes, weight gain, psychological problems and birth defects! No way am I taking the chance anymore. I cut out pop February 21, 2012 and haven’t looked back since. It’s also important for bariatric patients to cut out carbonated drinks because it can create severe gas in your pouch. So why wait! Cut out soda now and turn to drinks with benefits such as water, green tea or juice.

FastFood

2. Go out to eat less – Listen, there is nothing I hate more than cooking every day. My entire life I have been addicted to eating out or ordering in, but I know that eventually has to stop. Nothing is going to be harder for me to cut than this. As a child my parents hated cooking so McDonalds was our best friend. As a teenager I lived with my grandmother. She also hated to cook, especially just for two people, so we ate out every single day. Now that I am an adult out on my own, I have a hard time shaking the habit. I know if I can at least cut down on this I can save calories and money! I have went out to eat in the past two weeks, I have ordered in too. The difference is I am doing it less and I am making slightly better choices. I’m not completely there yet, I’m not perfect, but I’m working on it.

4-vitamins-lgn

3. Take your vitamins! – This is my goal for week three. I already know I am extremely deficient when it comes to Vitamin D and Calcium. After gastric bypass it’s going to be even harder to make sure I am getting enough vitamins, so why not start now. A lot of vitamins can naturally help with weight loss also, like Vitamin B12. As someone who also suffers from Fibromyalgia and Rheumatoid Arthritis, I should already be on a strict vitamin diet. So starting on March 11, 2012 I will be taking a multivitamin along with Vitamin D, Calcium, Fish Oil, 5 HTP, Sam-e, Magnesium, Vitamin C and Flax Seed Oil. I will be sure to post another blog explaining my vitamin & mineral choices! It’s also a good idea to start including foods high in certain vitamins to your diet. I personally always buy milk, eggs and orange juice with added Vitamin D.

6 thoughts on “3 Steps Towards Healthy Living

  1. I did weightwatchers for a little while & I lost 6 pounds in 2 weeks. If anything that made me make smarter and healthier choices towards eating. I plan on getting back on a weightwatchers program when It starts getting warmer out & I can do some exercise outside instead of feeling like I have to trap myself in the gym. But I really recommend WeightWatchers.

    • I’ve done Weight Watchers before and actually lost 79 pounds with the program. The problem is, the minute you stop doing it you gain it back! That’s what is wrong with these quick fixes. It is more effective if you decide to do it for life and stay committed to it, even the meetings. Otherwise it can just become another fad diet. It can be beneficial though so good luck with it!!

      • Yeah that is what happened with me I lost the weight & then went back to school & since I was on a meal plan & in the dorms it is much harder eating healthier without being home and personally purchasing your food & cooking it yourself. Dieting is the hardest for me, so I hope I find motivation within that and dragging my butt to exercise at least 4 times a week. With your blogs & seeing Snooki’s weight loss transformation, I am starting to feel inspired to look for a lifestyle change myself. If your ever home in the summer, we should go walking together at the park or around the highschool 🙂

  2. Hi Hilary. You’re right when you mentioned Bariatric patients need to cut out carbonated drinks, but not only because it gives you too much gas in your pouch. Its one of the fastest ways to actually stretch your small pouch and can cause weight gain that way. It’s one of the main no-no’s that we’ve been told about. So great step on taking you forward.

  3. Pingback: 3 Steps Towards Healthy Living | hilaryflint

Leave a Reply

